Sorry, your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly.

Microsoft no longer supports Internet Explorer. Please download their replacement Edge or another modern browser such as Chrome, Safari or Firefox. This site will not be fully functional using Internet Explorer.

World Heritage fossil sites

There are eleven fossil sites currently listed as World Heritage sites. These are:

  • The Australian Fossil Mammal Sites, Naracoorte and Riversleigh
  • The Burgess Shales, Canada
  • Dinosaur Provincial Park, Canada
  • The Messel Pits, Germany
  • Olduvai Gorge, Tanzania
  • Miguasha Park, Canada
  • Cradle of Humankind, South Africa
  • Ishygualasto Talampaya, Argentina
  • Joggins Fossil Cliffs, Canada
  • Wadii Al-Hitan, Egypt
  • Dorset & East Devon Coast, UK

Learn more about the sites.